Melanie Bishop

The Firecracker Award Nominees, with Book Covers, compliments of .

Leave a comment


From the announcement:

The Community of Literary Magazines and Presses, formerly the Council of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP), announced the shortlists for the six categories of the Firecracker Awards. Winners will be announced at a celebration on May 27 at powerHouse Arena in DUMBO.

Presented by CLMP, with the help of the American Booksellers Association (ABA) and a team of publishing professionals, the Firecracker Awards are a renewed and revitalized iteration of the Firecracker Alternative Book Award, originally established in 1996. The Firecrackers seek to celebrate and promote great literary works from independent literary publishers and self-published authors. We’re looking for language that smolders, crackles or explodes on the page. We’re looking for voices we’ve never heard and will never forget. The Firecrackers will spotlight books that make a permanent contribution to our literary culture and introduce them to readers far and wide.

“The Firecrackers celebrate the remarkable literary work making its way to readers through small publishers and self-published authors,” CLMP Executive Director Jeffrey Lependorf said. “We look forward to many new readers discovering these books and magazines as a result.”

Awards will be handed out in 6 categories: Creative Nonfiction; Fiction; Graphic Novel; Magazines; Poetry; and Young Adult.

(This list does not include the Magazine category nominees.)

From the Firecracker Awards Shortlist Announcement @ CLMP

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s